Posted on

Music, Art, And Worship (My Favorite Stuff!)

worship art

Jorie Henderson leads an evening of worship.

Music is the language of my heart. Nothing can reach me in quite the same way. It transcends words and preconceived ideas. Perhaps that is why music is such an important part of worship. Oh yes, you can worship God without music; it is certainly possible to enjoy music without engaging in worship. But put together music, worship, art, and a bunch of people you love, and it’s surely a taste of heaven.

Drummer Matt Henderson

Drummer Matt Henderson

Last week, my good friends, Jorie and Matt Henderson, brought together all of these elements in a beautiful evening of worship as they recorded music and video for their new music project, “Love Like Fire.” Jorie is a gifted vocalist, song writer, and keyboard player. Her husband, Matt, is a fine drummer and sound engineer. They’ve been working on some new music, and it’s all worship music. They have also enlisted some excellent musicians who are passionate about Jesus to be a part of this project. And, they called me and my artist friend, Sandy Beegle, to do live painting for the recording session.

Matt and Jorie had the auditorium set up to be vibey and cozy, with candles and chairs all facing the center. (But we were not confined to chairs, no sirree!) Our friend and pastor, Diane, was on hand to start us off with a rousing prayer. Later, Miss Aubrey stirred things up with more prayer. Folks were free to praise and worship and groove. Guitarist Dave Beegle added his awesome electric sound to the mix, and Emily Chamberlain (pastor/worship team member) led her song, “Beautiful God,” which I haven’t been able to stop singing ever since.

It’s so delightful to be in the company of people from several generations, coming together for the purpose of worshiping God. I saw young kids dancing and singing, college age guys and girls, grandmas and grandpas, and every age in between. Taking a couple of hours out of our busy lives to enjoy each other and God is something that is hard to find time to do, yet I’m always so glad I’ve done it.

"Throne Room II" - worship painting by Mollie Walker Freeman

“Throne Room II” – worship painting by Mollie Walker Freeman

My painting from that evening is another “throne room” picture, based upon my impressions from the book of Revelation. I tend to revisit these themes numerous times because I do not tire of imagining them, and, I suppose, because I really don’t know what they “should” look like. It’s fun to see what else happens as I paint this theme again and again. While I was working on the emerald rainbow, Sandy was painting an image inspired by the verse about mounting up on eagle’s wings. She is a great painter, and it’s always fun to see what she comes up with!

 

Sandy Beegle's painting

Sandy Beegle’s painting

As soon as I have definite info on how you can find this music, I’ll post it here for y’all.

Sandy and Mollie

About Mollie Walker Freeman

I am a fine art painter, & I am studying to be a health coach at the Institute of Integrative Nutrition.

Leave a Reply

